Run to the hills

Now that I have reached a certain stage in my life, I can say I’m older, hopefully, wiser, and more knowledgable about some things in this world. I’ll admit, reluctantly, I’m older…but not too old; no I don’t have white hair or rely on a cane…yet.

Have you ever been asked, “How can I pray for you? What can I pray for in your life?” and you had to think long and hard about what you’re in need of? When this happens, I realize, “Uh oh, I don’t have a need from God.” I’m still healthy, have enough to eat each day, and have a roof over my head. Good thing is that I can say I’m blessed. Not so good thing is that I might be self-deceived into thinking I don’t really have a need for God.

I’ve noticed that when things are well and life is comfortable, my reliance upon God is not as apparent. I don’t ask God for anything. When I do have difficulties and hardship, I do rely on God’s power to save. When I am doing well, I rely less on God’s power. I get lulled asleep into trusting in my own strength.

In the earliest biblical account, the early Christians were killed and faced hardship. Not kidding. The first Christians were forced to escape as refugees. They had to run away into rural areas for their safety. If they didn’t run, they risked their entire families being killed or brutalized by the ruling elites and governing authorities. Luke writes:

“And Saul approved of their killing him. That day a severe persecution began against the church in Jerusalem, and all except the apostles were scattered throughout the countryside of Judea and Samaria. Devout men buried Stephen and made loud lamentation over him. But Saul was ravaging the church by entering house after house; dragging off both men and women, he committed them to prison.”

Acts 8:1-3, NRSV updated

Think about it. Moms and Dads with kids in their arms, running for their lives. They quickly took all they had and fled from the city and ran to the hills. No passports. Carrying little or no gold, silver or money. Their businesses were shut down. No time to say, “Bye boss, bye neighbor.” Perhaps their boss, neighbors or so-called friends would’ve turned them in to the authorities. They took just the basic necessities like clothing, cookware, a few toys. Imagine the havoc. Their livelihoods were completely turned upside down.

If church leaders like Stephen was killed, then regular people like you, me, Joe and Jane Doe were not safe. No one was safe. Not women, not children. If you stuck to belief in Jesus, the safest place to run to were the hills. Find ways to survive by hiding from the governing authorities.

Imagine the pain and fear. As these faithful believers buried their leader Stephen, they wailed loudly in mourning over this tragedy. It’s recorded. Saul and the authorities were “ravaging the church by entering house and house; dragging off both men and women, he committed them to prison” (v.3).

The irony in all of this is that during this same time, healings and miracles were happening. The apostles faithfully continued to preach the gospel of Jesus. Philip performed miraculous signs, casting out evil spirits from the demon possessed. You could hear shrieks as this happened (vv. 5-8). And the amazing thing–there was a lot of joy in the people of that city.

That was a time in the early church when the new believers held tight to their new found faith. It was near and dear to their hearts. Faith was supernaturally sent down from heaven above.

Leave a comment