A spiritual experience in your baptism

I don’t remember my baptismal experience being a spiritual experience, but it does have a deeply spiritual significance for me.  When Jesus was baptized, his experience was very spiritual.  It was heaven coming to earth.
And when Jesus was baptized, immediately he went up from the water, and behold, the heavens were opened to him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and coming to rest on him; and behold, a voice from heaven said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.” (Matthew 3:16-17, ESV)
When you were baptized, did you remember having a spiritual experience during your baptism?  Was it anything like Jesus’?  Was your baptism a deeply spiritual or more of an earthly experience, or both?
Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

2 thoughts on “A spiritual experience in your baptism”

  1. When I was a wee Scottish bairn, my (unbelieving) parents had me “done”, i.e. “baptised”, i.e. sprinkled, and I knew nothing about it, and it never meant anything to me. Having come to faith in Christ, and understanding what I was doing, I requested baptism, received instruction over some months, and was baptised, i.e. by complete immersion, on the Lord’s Day evening of the week of my fourteenth birthday. The Scriptural order is clear : repent, and be baptised! Why must men complicate, and make a “theology” of, what is plain, in Scripture, in word and deed?

    Like

  2. It’s great you requested baptism as a believer. I also made a conscious decision to be baptized as a believer in my 20s and I am so happy I made this decision. I only remember being plunged in the baptismal tank. There are people who just get confirmed to publicly announce their infant baptism was made effective. In my opinion, it’s also a legitimate baptism but it seems that churches make it into an either/or theology.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

