The giver of happiness

We seem to have a fixation on happiness. Pharrell William’s hit song “Happy” is hot hot right now.

So, the question is what truly can make us happy? Think of God.  Happiness comes from the ultimate giver of happiness.

The devout Father John Tauler related this personal experience:
For years he had prayed God to send him someone who would teach him the
real spiritual life. One day, at prayer, he heard a voice saying: “Go
to such and such a church and you will have the answer to your
prayers.” He went and at the door of the church he found a beggar,
barefooted and in rags. He greeted the mendicant saying: “Good day, my
friend.”

“Thank you, sir, for your kind wishes, but I do not recall ever having
had a bad’ day.”

“Then God has certainly given you a very happy life.”

“That is very true, sir. I have never been unhappy. In saying this I am
not making any rash statement either. This is the reason: When I have
nothing to eat, I give thanks to God; when it rains or snows, I bless
God’s providence; when someone insults me, drives me away, or otherwise
mistreats me, I give glory to God. I said I’ve never had an unhappy
day, and it’s the truth, because I am accustomed to will unreservedly
what God wills. Whatever happens to me, sweet or bitter, I gladly
receive from his hands as what is best for me. Hence my unvarying
happiness.”

“Where did you find God?”

“I found him where I left creatures.”

“Who are you anyway?”

“I am a king.”

“And where is your kingdom?”

“In my soul, where everything is in good order; where the passions obey
reason, and reason obeys God.”

“How have you come to such a state of perfection?”

“By silence. I practice silence towards men, while I cultivate the
habit of speaking with God. Conversing with God is the way I found and
maintain my peace of soul.”

Union with God brought this poor beggar to the very heights of
perfection. In his poverty he was richer than the mightiest monarch; in
his sufferings, he was vastly happier than worldlings amid their
worldly delights.

– From John Tauler, Festival of Sermons in book: Uniformity with God’s Will by Liguori Alphonsus [link here].

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

Leave a Reply

