Mediating translations: the search

I haven’t done any serious blogging in a while but I hope things will change. In the near future, I will be blogging on mediating translations by doing some comparisons to see how they render some of the passages of text. Since my last series on mediating translations, several new revisions and updates have come out:

  1. Updated New International Version (NIV) 2011,
  2. Common English Bible (CEB), which is brand new
  3. Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB) 2009, and
  4. New English Translation (NET), and
  5. New Jerusalem Bible (NJB).

I’ll be concentrating on the first four but the first three translations are of special interest to me because they are newly updated.  I would like to see how they stack up against one another.  The CEB, currently available only in the New Testament, is a brand new release this year so that’s a very interesting and fresh translation that I haven’t had much opportunity to explore yet. It is an ecumenical translation whose translation/editorial team is mostly led by scholars from mainline protestant denominations.

Mediating translations will not include formal translations like the ESV, NRSV, NASB, or NJKV.  Nor will it include dynamic translations like the NLT, God’s Word, The Message, NCV, NIrV, GNB.  I’ve done similar comparisons in the past but I want to explore the newest updates just to see what’s improved and what’s better.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

6 thoughts on “Mediating translations: the search”

  1. I’m looking forward to it! I have always felt that mediating translations were the best for general reading, both privately and in church, as well as the best when witnessing to people. It’ll be interesting to see the differences between them all.

    Like

  2. Sam,
    Looking forward to your blogging on this! When you decided to go with, I noticed you went with the New Jerusalem. It is a fine translation, but was there any though of using the NAB. I know in Fee and Stauss’ book they considered the NAB to be very good mediating translation. Although I would argue that the NAB NT leans more formal and so will the revised NAB OT when it is published in 2011.

    Like

  3. Hi Tim, there wasn’t any huge debate between NAB and NJB. Last time I looked more closely at NAB so I thought I’d include the NJB. I may add in the NAB too. Thanks for the input.

    Like

Leave a Reply

