2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa

The 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa is now on and I’ll be following this. I won’t have a Team Canada to cheer for but with interest, I’ll be following a few football/soccer nations from each continent:

  • USA; Mexico: North America
  • Argentina; Uraguay: South America
  • South Korea: Asia
  • Nigeria: Africa
  • England; Germany; Slovenia: Europe

I”m not a huge soccer (football) fan but when something as big as this world event happens as occasionally as once every four years, I’ll be right into it. (I’ll be wearing my England and other soccer jerseys).  North America is one of the only few places in the world where people refer to football as “soccer”.  Why is this? I propose that we should rename our football leagues as “American rugby” instead in order to give the international sport of soccer its rightful name of “football”. Do you think that would fly with most Americans/Canadians?  And what teams will you be following or cheering for?

FIFA World Cup football is streaming online on-demand at ESPN3 and CBC.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

Leave a Reply

