Canadians are excited: more gold medals

I’ve been out of town this past weekend attending the Missions Fest conference in Edmonton, AB so I’ve been missing the last five days of the Olympics.  My posts have been totally Canadian-centric so I apologize to my readers.

While I was away, Jon Montgomery won gold in the Men’s Skeleton.  This has got to be one of the scariest rides on earth. You’re going 140 kilometers/hour laying head first on your stomach.  If your crash and burn, a person’s head will be the first to go.  So congrats to Jon on your win!  His entry onto the winner’s podium at B.C. Place was most unique.  Watch how he brushes to clean the podium before he jumps onto it with both feet (see video).  He was so much himself and unabashedly full of glee and happiness.  I love it.  I think Canadians are becoming freer in our expressions of joy.

I was elated to see Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir win the gold medal in the Ice Dance competition (see video). They beat out top favorites Russian world champions Oksana Domnina and Maxim Shabalin.  Way to go Tessa and Scott!    At ages 22 and 20, these two are the young team ever to win the ice dance competition.   What makes these two young kids special that they have the advantage of skating together since they were kids.  They also trained at the same skating club as the American team, Meryl Davis and Charlie White.  Without this friendly competition between the two teams, they probably wouldn’t have succeeded.  A little competition brings the best out of people.

Ashleigh McIvor (see her blog) also did Canada proud in winning gold in the Ladies’ Ski Cross competition. I absolutely love this Olympic event.  It’s fast, exciting, and doesn’t require much brain cells to understand. My kind of sport to kick back and relax.  In university, she wrote an essay explaining why the ski cross should be in the Olympics.  Now she won gold in the same competition in the Olympics (see video).  What a way to win gold….Clue: Set yourself up for your own competition and win it.  That’s the way to do it 😉  Ashleigh has the right idea and the determination to succeed.  Good job Ash!

Even in fifth place in the medal standings, Canadians feel like we are on top of the world.  The head of the Canadian Olympic Committee recently declared that we are not going to catch the Americans in medal standing.  The Canadian government invested millions into Canadian Olympic sports to compete with the Americans.  To think that we could ever out-do our American friends was too lofty a goal anyway.  If we place 4th or even 5th, I would still be proud of our entire Canadian Olympic squad.  Personally, I feel we are doing very well.  As long as we give it our best, we are doing well and we should feel proud of our efforts.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

2 thoughts on “Canadians are excited: more gold medals”

  1. Be proud, Kevin! Don’t worry about being Canadian-centric. We know that’s your country, and it’s a good one.

    I did notice that you haven’t been posting. But I also haven’t been watching, unfortunately. My wife took the remote control away because she was getting very upset watching the crashes on the ski slopes and the luge/bobsled run. It frightens her too much, so I give in. But I have been keeping an eye on things via the internet.

    Looking forward to the hockey finals!

    Like

  2. Thanks Gary. I know how you feel. My wife is not into the Olympics so she can complain about my channel hogging too.

    btw, the U.S. mens’ hockey team beat Canada 5-3. It was the most watched televised sports event in Canadian history. I missed that game but we Canadians were heartbroken. I will watch the Canada-Russia game tonight though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

