Mel Gibson and wife Robyn to divorce

Those who hold to conservative family values still end up in the same messy situations. Rep. New Gingrich, Pastor Ted Haggard, Senator Larry Craig.  Now it’s actor Mel Gibson’s turn.  Hollywood is as mixed up as always.  Mel Gibson’s adulterous affair with actor Oksana Grigorieva has recently resulted in an out of wedlock child, Lucia, born on October 30, 2009.  Grigorieva who is 39 has another child out of wedlock whose biological father is former James Bond actor Timothy Dalton.  He probably has no intention of marrying her.

Wife Robyn Moore, his wife of 28 years, and Mel Gibson will be getting a divorce. Gibson had seven children with his wife Robyn and now that’s all coming to an end.  Sad…truly sad.  I feel for his children. I wonder how that is going to affect their children?

Gibson is a committed Roman Catholic who attended the traditional mass in Latin and even drove his children to church.   After Mel Gibson’s movie, The Passion of the Christ (2004), I learned more about Gibson and got to admire his piety, but recently, any respect he garnered from conservative Catholics and protestants will be lost.  But of course, we still pray for him.

Since he believes in pre-Vatican II theology, his infidelity and divorce and be the cause of his wife’s and his own adultery in the future.  When he marries again, his second marriage will be considered adulterous.  The only way for Gibson to avoid adultery would be to annul the marriage and say he made a mistake after 28 years of being married to the same woman.  He could afford it.  One billion minus $500 million leaves him with $500 million.  Yeah, I think he can afford it.  Oksana Grigorieva will still like that.



Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

7 thoughts on “Mel Gibson and wife Robyn to divorce”

  1. I can’t help but view his film “Passion of the Christ” with different lenses now after his anti-semitic remarks and his adulterous affair. When I first saw it, I found it to be a deeply moving film, and one which I saw at a difficult time in my life. So, it certainly resonated with me at that time. However now, I am less likely to want toview the DVD of it that I own. But perhaps I shouldn’t necessarily equate the art with the artist in this example, since there were hundreds of other people who were involved in the making of the film. Hmm…I don’t know.

    Like

  2. Oh no, pitching conservative values? Just try not to end up like the rest of our friends.

    Tim, I know how it makes us feel some times. It’s hard to disconnect our enjoyment of the movie from the character, but I try.

    Like

  3. “the only way to avoid adultery..”???? nuff said.

    The annulment won’t happen in any California Ct.–none of the defects of marriage that would allow for it are present here. Even if they were, the length of the marriage would have ratified the could-have-been annulled marriage…

    and under Canon Law…well, no chance!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

