The Lutheran Study Bible to release on Reformation Day

October 31 seems too far away.  I just got the promotional kit in the mail today from Concordia Publishing House (CPH). It says that this new upcoming release of The Lutheran Study Bible (TLSB) in the ESV translation is to be released on Reformation Day, October 31.   I can’t wait.  This really is something I am really looking forward to as a Lutheran.

I know some of you out there are not too keen on the ESV but I still like it, despite some of the rough spots.  But the study notes in this study bible are going to be amazing. I’ve only seen a sampler and it looks very good from what I can see so far. I guess the old NIV Lutheran Self-Study Bible is on the way out.

Some of the features will include:

• 26,500-plus uniquely Lutheran study notes.
• Over 2,000 application notes and prayers for every part of the Bible.
• 80,000 center column cross-references.
• Over 900 cross-references to 120 full or half-page maps, charts, and diagrams.
• 220-plus articles and introductions to biblical books and topics.
• Insights from early church, medieval and Reformation era church fathers.
• Uses the English Standard Version translation, one of the most precise English translations available.
• Durable Smyth-sewn binding.

The promotional DVD is slick…I mean totally slick.  They have two young post-moderns in their twenties talking up the new TLSB.  This campaign is really geared for the younger generations.  Take a look at this video. I have to hand it to Concordia. They’re really doing a top-notch marketing campaign–one of the best I’ve seen, at least in the Lutheran world.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

13 thoughts on “The Lutheran Study Bible to release on Reformation Day”

  1. LOL “just because the Bible was made for Lutherans doesn’t mean that it’s just for Lutherans…” Was that good humor or a definite blurring of the line between “the Bible” as text and interpretative study apparatus? Or both…

    Like

  2. ElShaddai, I thought the same thing. They better clear things up with “The Lutheran Study Bible.”

    It might almost be better not to mention that at all. But then, on the other hand, if I wasn’t Lutheran, would I be interested in getting the TLSB? I’m not sure. The notes in it are amazing. Have a look in the sample. I have to say I was impressed.

    Like

    1. Tim, we Lutherans are certainly blessed with two study bibles. I think it was a long time coming. Evangelicals and Catholics have had their’s for a while. Now it’s our turn.

      The more conservative Lutheran church, the LCMS was recommended by some committe on worship to use the ESV in their new hymnal-worship book. It was a natural translation because many were already familiar with the KJV and RSV, before it switched over to the NIV. So the ESV just seemed like a natural fit. I don’t think the LCMS would ever consider the NRSV. I think some LCSM Lutherans were also on the ESV translation team so that’s all the more reason to go with the ESV.

      Here’s another. In Acts 3:21, the NIV sounds like Jesus’ body cannot be present with us. The ESV doesn’t give that impression:
      “He must remain in heaven until the time comes for God to restore everything” (NIV)
      “Jesus, whom heaven must receive until the time for restoring all the things” (ESV)

      Like

  3. Why am I reading about people commenting about their new lutheran study bible on your facebook page when you say it won’t be available till reformation day?

    Like

  4. John, I don’t know why CPH is publicizing that their official release date is Oct. 31 and then making shipments before this date? CPH may have changed their minds about this due to early demand. Some were desperate to see it. I presume they just want to get the bibles out the warehouse and into peoples’ hands sooner than later. I’m looking forward to seeing it anyway. I don’t have a copy yet.

    Like

  5. I got my copy on Sept 8. Have taken a preliminary look and very favorable response. Far better than other study Bibles I have seen. The paper on the regular size is a little thin with bleed through, but there is a lot of information packed into it. That regular size weighs 4 pounds, the large print (coming in October) weights 7 pounds.

    The three symbols in the footnotes lead to helpful understanding of passages (Trinity, Word and Sacrament, Missions). Also, several footnotes include short prayers at the end of the explanation, which provides a devotional character to the study. The cross-references are more extensive than in the NLT Study Bible.

    (I will be writing a review on my own blog in a while)

    Rich

    Like

    1. Rich, I look forward to reading your review. The thing I’m wondering about is the size of the font on the regular size. I know some of the older folks in my congregation might prefer the larger font. I’m surprised it’s a difference of 3 pounds between font sizes (7-4=3).

      Like

Leave a Reply

