Where were you when you heard Michael Jackson died?

I do not know why this story is important enough to bring me back to blogging but it is. Where were you when you heard that Michael Jackson had died? As I was returning home today on Highway #44 from a visit with parishioners this late afternoon, I turned on the radio in the car and tuned into news radio. I was stunned and felt a loss inside. The older generation will remember exactly where they were and what they were doing when they received the news when JFK was shot in Texas and had died. And just as people will remember exactly where they were when the Twin Towers tumbled in NYC, I will remember where I was when I heard that Michael Jackson suddenly died.

For some, Michael Jackson’s death has little significance, but for me, he was a real huge icon in my era. Yes, I do feel kind of sad and feel a part of me has died today. Why? Maybe it’s because, as a kid, I learned how to moonwalk from watching Michael Jackson videos of Thriller…. maybe it’s because I remember listening to hits like Thriller, Beat it, Billie Jean, Say Say Say, etc. Yes, I admit I was a fan of him when he was at his peak of pop stardom. I liked his music, his dancing and his originality. Regardless of the bad stuff that happened in the latter stages of his life, he will be remembered by millions of people around the world who liked his music. My thoughts and prayers are with him and may God be with his family members.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

5 thoughts on “Where were you when you heard Michael Jackson died?”

  1. We were fixing dinner and my younger brother got a text message that said "Michael Jackson is dead." So I went and looked it up on Google News and found the earliest story from eight minutes prior saying that he was.

    Like

  2. They say you will always remember where you were and what you were doing when someone of great importance dies.

    Well I was sitting at my computer about to respond to a CNN “Cafferty file” question about taxes w regards to health care.

    The comment section was closed, so I accessed their “contact” and submitted my comments there. The screen that came up next said “Breaking News” and reported that Michael Jackson had a cardiac arrest. I immediately switched my television channel to CNN and called my friend Darlene. She stumbled over her words in disbelief, shock and concern.

    Shortly thereafter, CNN announced that Michael Jackson had passed. The phone calling to friends and family began … and there were mixed reactions, from outbursts of tears to denial and some totally heartbroken.

    After speaking to some friends, a severe thunderstorm erupted in the area where I live, and reluctantly, I turned off my computer and television, though just in time, because the electrical power shortly after was knocked out.

    The news of Michael’s death did not bring tears last night, just a strange feeling that I couldn’t put my finger on. I hadn’t thought about Michael in over a year or so and since I watch a lot of politically oriented news, I didn’t see any stories about him.

    Later that evening (around 10:25pm), while I was on my cell phone talking to my Mom, the power was restored. When I turned on the television, the news media was still talking about Michael, showing his videos and playing his music. It was then that I truly got a sense of how deeply Michael Jackson was loved and had impacted the entire world.

    Michael was bigger than life … yes, he was an icon.

    This morning the tears flowed and I feel a great sense of loss.

    Each morning I go through a routine … checking my website, blogs and emails, etc. etc. I don’t want to deal with any of that today. I simply want to share this day with Michael’s countless fans across the world, remembering the Michael Jackson we knew and loved and still love.

    Words cannot adequately express what Michael Jackson, the multi-talented genius, innovative artist, and very shy and gracious man-child, means to me and many others.

    I/we love you and you will be greatly missed. Thank you for leaving us a legacy of moving, captivating songs and visual artistry.

    Farewell, … peace be with you.

    My comments were posted at: http://clevelandssecretclub.blogspot.com/2009/06/thoughts-off-cuff-peace-be-with-you.html

    Like

  3. I was at work and my wife called me. We were both young adults during the 80's, and both of us consider that decade to be the golden age of music. When I was 21 back in 1986, my parents had another baby! I became a big, BIG, brother to a wonderful baby boy. When he was about two, he discoverd my Michael Jackson videos and danced with Michael! It was so funny, and I have a video tape of him in front of the old analog tv dancing and following along. It was a great time in my life and Michael's music surely takes me back. I pray to God that Michael and all of us be forgiven of our sins. I am sure Michael is at peace with Jesus.

    Like

  4. I am not sure how one could be sure Michael is at peace with Jesus as he converted to Islam thus denying the one true God and the Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

