My ordination and convocation

The next few weeks will mark some very important milestone in my life. My graduation/convocation from seminary will be on May 8, 2009. Since the end of 2008, I completed all my seminary classes. By God’s providence, I was blessed with the opportunity to serve as a pastoral assistant on a half-time basis at my home congregation. In the mean time, I have been awaiting a call to serve as a full-time ordained minister of the gospel, and now, the time has come.

I have been offered a Letter of Call to shepherd two small rural congregations. This Sunday, on April 26th, I will be ordained as a pastor in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada; and I will have an official title of Reverend Kevin Sam. It’s hard to believe after all this time. I will also be busy packing, moving, and getting settled into a new place in the next several weeks. This means I’ll have less time for blogging in the next little while so don’t expect many posts but I will be back at my normal pace after I get settled. Peace and blessings to all my friends and readers of this blog.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

9 thoughts on “My ordination and convocation”

  1. Stan and Tim, thank guys.

    Hey I love Florida. Canadians think of Florida as vacation country. With all that beautiful weather all year round, I don’t know how people can concentrate on ministry?

    Like

  2. TC, thanks brother. It’s good to know I have a colleague in ministry who loves the Lord.

    Stan, you never know. One year I just might decide to vacation in Orlando. If I do, I’ll let you know.

    Like

  3. Congratulations Kevin! The Church will be strengthened by your presence as a pastor. I have been strengthened and encouraged by you, and I know that God will use you to do the same for others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

