Tsunami tidal wave in the worldwide Anglican Communion

It is like as if several tectonic plates around the Anglican world are shifting; and this shift is about to trigger a huge tsunami tidal wave in the great big sea of Anglicanism. This has been happening for quite a while now and is nothing new but I am just starting to listen in on this conversation (or rather, dispute) to learn about what is going on.

For those who do not know anything about what the Anglican Communion is about, it is like a big umbrella that holds all Anglicans around the world together, and this umbrella feels like it is about to split at the seams.

For traditional Anglicans, it seems that the Anglican provinces of Canada and the United States within this Communion are desiring to move away from its traditional Christian beliefs regarding same-sex marriage. For traditional Anglicans, they claim that it is not only about same-sex marriage but also about the way Christians should view scripture.

Many traditional Anglicans do not approve of this revisionist agenda because they feel that its leaders are trying to move the Anglican Church of Canada and the Episcopal Church into uncharted unorthodox waters. The “revisionist agenda” is a label pinned on the liberal movement to “unorthodoxy” (which can also be a loaded term to those on the liberal side of Anglicanism).

Note: A conservative site to peruse through is at the Anglican Network website of video on YouTube, and documents and PowerPoints from the natonal conference). It gives you a sense of what is happening from a traditionalist point of view.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

2 thoughts on “Tsunami tidal wave in the worldwide Anglican Communion”

  1. I have really started to struggle with the direction of my church again lately. I wish it were easier for conservatives and moderates to realign with foreign bishops. I am in the midst of training to become a worship leader in the ECUSA, but sometimes feel very discouraged and think of looking for other ways and places to serve. I do have a conservative bishop by the standards of today, but I get so tired of fighting the image of our national church, which reflects upon all of us, hindering our work.

    I still don’t know what I will do, but right now I would just like to ask the prayers of all who read this blog for the condition of the ECUSA.

    Here is yet another article I ran across, which shows clearly the disturbing thought process of our leadership. This is one of the most disgusting things I have ever read. I am sickened and outraged.

    http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/damian_thompson/blog/2009/04/02/abortion_is_a_blessing_and_abortionists_are_doing_holy_work_says_anglican_priest

    Like

  2. L. Wells, may God refresh you and give you the strength to go on to serve him in the joy of his Holy Spirit. That’s my prayer for you.

    I know it’s tough but we have to pray for our bishops and those in leadership even if we may not agree with everything they stand for. The way I look at is if you leave the church, there will be one less person to give an alternative voice. Your voice is legitimate and if it’s not spoken, then who will have the opportunity to hear it?

    Well, that’s how I feel when I’m up…but when I’m down, I don’t know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

