Where many of today’s young evangelicals are at politically

I just bought my current issue of Relevant magazine from the local Christian bookstore this afternoon and read an interesting article about where many of today’s young evangelicals are at politically. Brett McCracken’s article: “A change we can believe in?” really hits the nail on the head as to how some young evangelicals feel about politics and how they vote. Even though I tend to be conservative on many issues, I can relate to some of what McCracken says concerning young evangelicals. I think his assessment is fairly realistic and open-minded because I feel there is a change in the undercurrent that many of us don’t see. Here’s a brief blurb:

….Even though young evangelicals veered farther to the left this election, their older counterpoints actually voted in higher percentages for McCain than they did for Bush.

“We’re seeing that younger generations are more and more concerned with living a life that is consistent with the teachings and ministry of Jesus Christ than they are with towing a particular party line,” Merritt told PBS.

Indeed, fewer and fewer young evangelicals are identifying with old-school Republicanism. They may side with Republicans because of issues like abortion, but when it comes to Reagan-style economic philosophies or Cold War-infused, us-vs.-the-world foreign policies, many young Christians are finding more in common with the left.

…Rather than tow a particular party line, young evangelicals are increasingly more concerned with simply living a life that is defined by and consistent with the teachings of Jesus Christ. That can mean Democrat or Republican, but most often it means both and neither. Two parties cannot contain the cause of Christ, many Christians would say. And as such, many of us feel trapped between a rock and a hard place.”

I don’t entirely relate to this but I do feel this is why some of our younger evangelicals really feel inspired by President Barack Obama’s speeches. I know he does inspire me.

Where do you stand as a younger or older Christian voter? Can you relate to feeling trapped between a rock and a hard place, or do you feel strongly one way or another?

You can read the entire article here (see p. 38).

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

3 thoughts on “Where many of today’s young evangelicals are at politically”

  1. I believe that we are at the cusp of a giant change within evangelical politics, and while it is starting with the younger generation of voters, there is a chance it will spill over into the entire demographic.

    The National Association of Evangelicals’ document, For the Health of a Nation, puts forward seven key issues that evangelicals should be concerned about, a much broader approach than the big two that the religious right has typically advocated for (abortion and marriage). I feel that this type of approach is not only more holistically biblical, but it also will do a lot for our witness within the public square. This movement, typically called the “evangelical center,” should be where all Bible believing Christians migrate towards.

    Like

  2. Kolburt, welcome to the NewEpistles blog. I believe you are absolutely right about this. I see many younger generations of Christians approaching the world and politics with a broader view than the older generations did in the past.

    I’m just curious if you follow certain indicators of this trend or if it’s just by intuition?

    Like

  3. I don’t know if you could say I follow any indicators for this trend, but I think it is also more than just intuition. Evangelical politics is one of my passions, so I try to stay well read on the subject.

    I saw the comments you left on our blog, and wanted to thank you for your kind words. I believe that the way we Christians are going to change the way the world views our politics is going to be by each of us doing what we can to contribute to the overall tone of discussion. It seems to me that you and I both are going the same direction, and it is always nice to get some encouragement from a brother in arms. God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

