Ray Boltz has come out of the closet and announced he is gay

Christian musician-artist, Ray Boltz, has recently given an interview to Washington Blade, a gay magazine. Christianity Today magazine has a recent article about it. He’s announced that he’s come out of the closet and has said that the only way to deal with homosexuality is to accept it. Here’s some of what Ray Boltz said:

“I’d denied it ever since I was a kid. I became a Christian, I thought that was the way to deal with this and I prayed hard and tried for 30-some years and then at the end, I was just going, ‘I’m still gay. I know I am.’ And I just got to the place where I couldn’t take it anymore … when I was going through all this darkness, I thought, ‘Just end this.’”

I’ve listened to Ray Boltz since I was a kid and love his music. But when I just discovered he has come out of the closet, I was in shock. David Ker most recently posted on this subject amongst other bloggers. Stan McCullers has also just posted about this issue that is tearing the Episcopal Church apart. This same-sex issue is shifting within the mainline churches but it’s now also making small waves in evangelical circles. Many in our blogosphere is passing this hot potatoe

Romans 1 seems clear about this. Where do you stand?

If you don’t know who he is, here’s one of people’s favorite songs called “Thank You.”

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

4 thoughts on “Ray Boltz has come out of the closet and announced he is gay”

  1. Hey Kevin,

    Check out Doug Chaplin’s blog, MetaCatholic, ( http://www.metacatholic.co.uk/2008/08/reading-the-bible-without-gay-abandon/ ) for a thorough investigation of the scriptural background here. Personally, I don’t think that it’s quite as clear as we need it to be in order to make judgements.

    In any case, the churches reaction to this should be that in Colossians 3 – that is, bear with each other, forgiving each other, and acting with compassion and kindness, not with judgement – and in many other places in scripture.

    It doesn’t matter if Boltz is doing right or doing wrong, it is not our place to judge. It is our place to love.

    Like

  2. Nice post Damian, thanks. You raise excellent points.

    While I don’t have time to make a long drawn out post on my position at the moment, I will give my opinion in a nutshell. I feel the scriptures are clearly opposed to homosexuality, but this is in practice. The key to any vice is simply avoiding capitulation to it(which is not easily done). For example, many are alcoholics, but so long as they do not yield to the power of their addiction, and they keep their relationship to Christ first in their life, they are in my view, a Christian. I actually was friends with a minister who was a recovered alcoholic. I don’t think anyone can help what sinful behaviors they are drawn to, we are all drawn to some vice or other, yet we pray for the strength to overcome our struggles. I believe that so long as we acknowledge our vices as sin, and truly seek deliverance, we are Christians, even in our struggles. If we could live our lives perfectly without error, I suppose Christ’s sacrifice would not be necessary.

    This issue has been a problem in The Episcopal Church,(of which I am a member) for many years now, and I argue that no practicing homosexual should hold any place of leadership in our church. Though I would also contend that no one who is submitting to any other sinful vice, and denying the sinful nature of it should serve either, because such a person would not seem to me to even be a Christian. It is a fine line we must toe between cold hard facts and warm tender mercy, and both of these must be given justice. As Dietrich Bonhoeffer once said in his classic ‘Ethics’, the law is only valid if we apply it to our own lives and do not use it to judge our fellow man. That is not a direct quote, but it is the gist of it. In Bonhoeffer’s mind, we must trust the power of God’s law to transform our fellow man once we have proclaimed it, even though we are not to be contented when he does not repent.

    One thing that might help us to show mercy, is to try and put ourselves in the place of the person who struggles with a particular vice that we take strong issue with. If we had to deal with the same powerful vice, how would we view it then? The key to me, is whether they acknowledge they have a problem, or whether they try and make their vice seem as though it is appropriate behavior. It is about the attitude of the heart of the sinner, for we are all sinners.

    Like

  3. Boltz wants to live a gay lifestyle and call himself a Christian.

    No place for bearing with him on that. We’re not to even eat with him.

    Paul wrote to the Corinthians that we must not associate with any who claim to be fellow believers but are sexually immoral or greedy, idolaters or slanderers, drunkards or swindlers. With such persons do not even eat.

    Like

  4. Damian, thanks for the link to the info. I’ve checked it out. I’m not sure what we mean by “judging” because this can be defined differently. In scripture, we are called to have an opinion but not to judge so if you could define what you mean by “judgement”, it would be more clear.

    L. Wells, a very thoughtful response. I agree that we must treat each person with grace and mercy no matter where they are because it is through grace that everyone is saved. We can be firm in our faith and where we stand about what the scriptures say but still be merciful and grace-filled. It is not easy to do especially when we have worldly and political forces to deal with. I have to keep praying that the Holy Spirit give me strength.

    Stan, thanks for taking a stand but I feel that we still need to love our gay brothers and lesbian sisters even though we don’t endorse their lifestyle. Some people may think that that is to give our approval to their lifestyle and some people even think that that is still being “narrow-minded” but I think it’s neither.

    Like

Leave a Reply

