James 4:2 in relation to abortion

Stan McCullars, who is a new to the blogging scene at Just After Sunrise, posted a great sermon by John Piper on abortion. Occasionally, we need to hear sermons like these that explain why abortion goes against God’s will. Often we forget because sometimes it’s not preached on enough from our pulpits. Twenty million abortions have happened in America since the courts made the ruling on Roe vs Wade in 1973. Piper’s sermon applies James 4:2 to abortion “You want what you don’t have, so you scheme and kill to get it” (NLT). It explains the practices of our hedonistic society and why we find it so convenient to do anything to get what we want, and even to steal the life of an unborn person. The psalmist wrote about himself in Psalm 139:

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.”
(Psalm 139:13-16, New Living Translation)

This serves to reminds us of our own vulnerable and helpless state of being while we were still within our mother’s womb. Life is precious and holy.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

2 thoughts on “James 4:2 in relation to abortion”

  1. Kevin,
    Thank for the link.

    Something I didn’t mention is that on that Sanctity of Life Sunday of 1987 when John Piper preached that sermon, I was in Auburn, AL sharing a testimony in our old church, Lakeview Baptist Church. The testimony was about how God was pleased to use the preaching of Al Jackson on the Sanctity of Life Sunday of the prior year.

    You see, Al Jackson preached the truth about life and the evil of abortion. My wife and I, both unbelievers at the time, were pregnant and didn’t yet know it. Had we found out about the pregnancy before the sermon there is little doubt that we would have killed our kid.

    Thank God for his mercy and grace. Our son will be 22 this October. He has been a tremendous blessing to both of us and to countless others.

    Like

  2. That’s an awesome testimony how God spoke to you through the sermon. Thank God for the mercy that comes through His spoken word. God is love.

    Just to see the grace of God in your son’s life can speak louder than words about how precious life is. I’m sure your son now appreciates being able to live life here on earth too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

