A fine speech by Barack Obama at the DNC, Denver

After watching Barack Obama’s speech at the Democratic National Convention on TV tonight, I was once again blown away by his gift of the gab. Even though I didn’t agree with everything he said, I thought that his speech was masterfully crafted and delivered. On the most part, his speech was quite positive, but there were a few accusations he made toward Sen. McCain and President Bush that were illogical, based more on pure emotion, and were non-factual. However, what I do like about Obama is his ability to raise the level of hope in people and the average blue-collar/middle-class person. He does have an amazing ability to touch the hearts of people and stir their emotions like J.F. Kennedy, Ronald Reagan, and Martin Luther King, Jr. It’s something I haven’t seen in McCain, or any candidate of any party in a long time. But I should wait and see what’s going to happen next week at the Republican National Convention at Minneapolis-St.Paul’s. I didn’t see any of the first three nights but this night was probably the best speech I’ve heard from him.
Personally, I don’t stand where Obama is on abortion. I do believe partial-birth abortion is infanticide. His position to support this is still unthinkable for me. Even some liberal Democrats will not support this. Some people can disregard points of disagreement and still support him. I don’t know how Christians can reconcile these moral issues and still support him. On the other hand, when it comes to conservative politics, social and fiscal conservative Christians also do this on other issues. I think a lot of us do this no matter what party we support. Can everyone agree with Bush and McCain on every issue? I doubt it. When it comes down to it all, it really depends which points hold closest to our hearts. We will give first prioritize to those closest to our hearts.

An important area that I think Obama could improve for America is race relations and unity. For many Democrats, Obama, for the first time in a long time, embodies the hope of uniting black and white, Asian and etc. In his speech, I heard hope for a united future but more importantly, I heard hope for people in the lower classes who have felt suppressed and hope for a better future. I think more people will vote for him just because of his uncanny gift to inspire hope in the future. That’s why the granddaughter of Pres. Eisenhower, who is a Republican, was moved enough by him to give her support to him in February. I really do wish more Republicans could speak like Barack Obama. I know there are tired Republicans out there who are yearning for something new and if they don’t find it in McCain, it is a realistic possibility that they will turn to support Obama who expresses a new hope for the future so well. Politically and philosophically, I’m a conservative, but what I have seen in Obama sounds so attractive to my ears and heart that even this conservative could be tempted to vote for him (if I could, but I can’t, because I’m Canadian).

Even though Obama may not have much experience in the international affairs, I think he might be able to do fairly well in this area because he does have a sense of justice, fairness, and an innate ability to walk the middle ground. This will go very far with foreign national leaders who are at heads with each other. He has the potential to be the linkage to foster peaceful relations around the world. This is just based on my intuition; but I could be wrong too.
Whether Obama has the ability to handle the economy is the biggest question. Likely, it’s the economy that is going to determine how he is remembered most as President of the United States. (Though Bush will be remembered most for his policy in Iraq, people may forget about the other good things his administration has done for the country, and that is not really fair for Bush). I think his lack of experience in running the country or even a state will be his weakness because his understanding of economics may be his Achilles Heel. No matter what Obama may have said tonight to undercut his critics, this weakness will be his big test in the future. Despite this area of weakness, he does have a realistic chance of be elected the next President of the United States. And if Obama does become the next President of the United States, he’d do well to have strong economic advisors to back him up.

After watching Senator Barack Obama’s speech at the Democratic National Convention on TV tonight, I was once again blown away by his gift of the gab to stir my emotions. It was truly incredible. Even though I didn’t agree with everything he said, I thought that his speech was masterfully crafted and delivered. On the most part, his speech was quite positive, he did make a few accusations toward Sen. McCain and President Bush that were illogical, based more on pure emotion, and were non-factual. However, what I do like about Obama is his ability to raise the level of hope in people and the average blue-collar/middle-class person. He does have an amazing ability to touch the hearts of people and stir their emotions like J.F. Kennedy, Ronald Reagan, and Martin Luther King, Jr. It’s something I haven’t seen in McCain, or any candidate of any party in a long time. But I should wait and see what’s going to happen next week at the Republican National Convention at Minneapolis-St.Paul’s. I didn’t see any of the first three nights but this night was probably the best speech I’ve heard from him.

I do not agree with where Obama stands on abortion. Partial-birth abortion is still infanticide. The right of women to choose is one thing, but this is going way too far in my opinion. I don’t know how Christians can reconcile these moral issues and still support him on abortion. Democrats with a moral conscience will not even support his position. Some people can keep a blind eye on points of disagreement and still support him, but it’s definitely not easy to do when it comes to moral issues. On the other hand, when it comes to conservative politics, social and fiscal Christian conservatives also do this on certain issues. I think a lot of us do this no matter what party we support. Can all conservatives agree with Bush and McCain on every issue? I doubt it. When it comes down to it all, we give first prioritize to the issues closest to our hearts.

Where I think Obama can make a positive contribution to American society is bringing more racial harmony and healing to African American families. For many Democrats, Obama, for the first time in a long time, embodies the hope of a better future for all people of different ethnicities and races in America–not just for white anglo-saxons. I think more people will vote for him just because of his uncanny gift to inspire this new found hope. There is something very valuable that Republicans can learn from Obama. Many Republicans have also been inspired by Obama. That’s why the granddaughter of Pres. Eisenhower, who is a Republican, was moved enough by him to lend her support to him in February (even though she still looks and feels the part of a hardcore Republican). I really do wish more Republicans and conservatives could speak with heart-felt emotion like Barack Obama. I know there are tired Republicans out there who are yearning for something new and if they don’t find it in McCain, it is a realistic possibility that they will turn to support Obama who expresses a new hope for the future so well. Politically and philosophically, I’m a conservative, but I have to admit that what I have seen in Obama sounds so attractive to my ears and heart that even this conservative would be tempted to vote for him (if I could, but I can’t, because I’m Canadian).

Even though Obama may not have much experience in international affairs, I think he might be able to do fairly well in this area because he does have a sense of justice, fairness, and an innate ability to walk the middle ground. This will go very far with foreign national leaders who are at logger heads with each other. Just based on my intuitive sense, I feel he may have the potential to be a vital linkage to foster peaceful relations around the world. A few months ago, he tried to make himself look presidential and statesman-like when he toured Europe and the world, and this strategy paid off for him big time.

The biggest questions in the minds of most people is whether Obama has the ability to handle the economy. Right now, the U.S. economy is not looking too good; and likely, it’s the economy that is going to determine how he is to be remembered in history as the President of the United States. (Though Bush will be remembered most for his policy in Iraq, people may forget about the other good things his administration has done for the country. I don’t feel that is fair for Bush). I think Obama’s lack of experience in running the country or even a state will be his weakness. His lack of understanding in economics may be his Achilles Heel. No matter what Obama may have said tonight to undercut his critics, this weakness will be his big test in the future. Despite this area of weakness, he does have a realistic chance of be elected the next President of the United States. And if Obama does become the next President of the United States, he’d do well to have strong economic advisors to back him up.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

2 thoughts on “A fine speech by Barack Obama at the DNC, Denver”

  1. Kevin,

    Once again I agree with you, and you expressed yourself almost exactly how I feel regarding Senator Obama. I really like the guy, and he does have this ability to instill hope. A part of me wants to take the risk and vote for him, but at last the critical positions that you outline keep me from committing myself to his cause. If he does win, he will get my full support, and prayers.

    Like

  2. Rob, if we could just pick specific things we agree with in each candidate, that would be nice. I wish all politicians could inspire like Sen. Obama. Whether he wins or not, he will definitely make on mark on American politics. But we need to pray for all our politicians regardless of political stripe because they all carry ideas and ideals that would help us all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

