Whitehorse, Yukon: the most northern parts of Canada




I have been away from blogging for over 2 weeks and I loved it. I have been away at a bible camp doing some speaking, and also returned from the Yukon, which is located way up north next to Alaska. Yes, Saskatoon, SK, Canada is north, but Whitehorse, Yukon is even further up north. I can say that this is the furthest north I have ever been. I was up there for a national youth gathering of about 1,200 youths from across Canada.

I also took some pictures of the travels through the northern Rocky Mountains. They were not as majestic as the Rockies around Banff, Alberta but they were still beautiful. Northern Canada is truly a very beautiful country. It was my first time up in the Yukon and I savored the beauty in creation. I took a lot of photos and videos of the Rockies on the bus going up to Whitehorse. I even saw herds of buffalo (Yes, those are pictures of real buffalo taken from outside the bus window!). These are some of my shots. Enjoy.

I have also tried to upload videos of some awe-inspiring mountainous landscapes but it failed to upload. I don’t know why. Maybe I will try again later.

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

3 thoughts on “Whitehorse, Yukon: the most northern parts of Canada”

  1. Great photos, Kevin – glad you enjoyed the trip to Whitehorse! Jump another “few” hours and you would have been in my old stomping grounds of Alaska.

    I spent a summer in my youth almost due south from Whitehorse in Skagway, AK. Lots of tourists going through on coaches like yours…

    Like

  2. Hey ES, thanks. I wish I could have gone to Alaska too but was with a large caravan of coaches. A stop around Skagway would’ve been nice. I hear Alaska is even more beautiful than Yukon.

    Did you ever pass through Watson Lake, YK where there were the famous forest of sign posts (with thousands of signs mostly from Americans)?

    Like

  3. I hear Alaska is even more beautiful than Yukon.

    I think so… but then again I never did make it up into the Yukon – one thing I’d like to do before I die is drive the AlCan.

    I’ve heard of and seen pictures of the sign posts at Watson Lake, but never been there myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

