Our Christmas gift

I am proud to announce to the world that I am a new dad. On Friday morning, December 21, 2007 at 9:41 a.m. my wife gave birth to our baby daughter Julianne Hannah Sam. We have been getting things ready for our baby’s arrival into this world and she came at a most profound time–just before Christmas. Thank you Lord!

Author: Kevin S.

A follower of Jesus, a husband and a father. Hobbies include biking, keeping fish if they don't die on me, blogging when I can, theologizing and ministry, and pondering about world affairs.

10 thoughts on “Our Christmas gift”

  1. All right proud papa! What a wonderful Christmas present!

    Congratulations, Kevin! May this sweet little dear one always be a blessing to you and your wife!

    Praising the Lord for this blessed new life!

    Like

  2. What a blessing! Congrats to you and your wife.

    Psalm 127:3 “Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward.”

    Rich

    Like

  3. Thank you everyone. My daughter is a real joy for me. I’m just getting used to the idea that I have a daughter. I have to say that getting up in early mornings to change diapers will be a blessing too.

    Like

  4. Congratulations, Kevin! Is this your first? We were not blessed with daughters, but two sons (4 and 2) that make this Dad very proud.

    I will look forward to seeing blog posts from you now at all hours of the night!

    Like

  5. Yes, this is my first. I have had very little sleep in this first week. I had to try to get a few hours sleep here and there during the daytime to make up for lost sleep. I felt really lost the first few days so it is really tough. But the good thing is that through trial and error I’m learning some time-saving babycare ideas each day.

    Like

  6. Elshaddai, with 2 kids, life is not easy. Now I know what it’s like for dads who have children. It must also be hard to do blogging with all the things you have to do as a dad. I don’t know how dads like you and Joe do it…things I still need to learn.

    Like

  7. Heh, heh… I can say that life is easier today than it was one or two years ago! Having the youngest be old enough to play with his older brother is a major blessing.

    As far as blogging goes, just remember to not give it priority over kids or your wife or all other household/work responsibilities. It’s a luxury, not a requirement, to have the time to blog. For me, this falls into the “forsake yourself and serve your family” category.

    That said, I’ve always been one to not need lots of sleep, so I tend to carve out some personal time early in the morning before work and maybe over lunch as well. I’m also fortunate to have time to read the Bible on the bus on the way to work every morning.

    Like

  8. Hi Kevin,

    Congratulations to you and your wife!! What a tremendous blessing and sweet Christmas gift from the Lord. I’m so happy for you!! My two sons brings bring me endless joy, and they provide countless lessons in my Christian walk … God teaches me so much about Him and myself through my kids. I know that you all will be abundantly blessed. Praise God!!

    Like

  9. Thanks Monica. I can’t wait until she gets a little older because I can’t really talk to her yet. All she does is sleep, eat, and poop. But God is still teaching me things about love and family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

